R25: The Killing Season

The Killing Season by Mason Cross



I actually read this series in order, picking up the first in the series (o.k. I admit it, it was by accident!).  I don’t know why I liked this book, I just did.  It felt like each separate chapter was complete in of itself. sort of a series of short stories and yet still a complete novel.  It was a great plot with the odd twist to really keep the reader interest.  However, the plot is not unique.  Many novels feature a trained sniper who turns criminal and likes creating fear in the general public.  Leading the charge to capture and/or stop him is a “shadow”operative independent but attached to the good side.  It is the side stories and well written characters elevate the generic plot .

Keep it and reap it ratings.  I want to read another Cross book and see if the enjoyment lasts.  I am so pleased that this is the first in a series about Carter Blake and being written from his perspective.  I will be hunting down the next one, The Samaritan.  That is if I don’t break and buy it as an ebook.  The number of books waiting for me to read is getting a little ridiculous!!


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s